Melbourne Cup Winners List – Legacy of Horse Racing Excellence


Explore the history of the Melbourne Cup and also find The Melbourne Cup winners list here. The history of this breathtaking event is full of fascinating last moments of the run. Come and visit where you could be able to get the complete information about this championship.

Melbourne Cup Winners List

The Melbourne Cup winners list not only indicates the names of the winners but also the owners, sponsors, trainers, and jockeys. This passionate event was started in 1861, so the list of winning champions is given below.

Melbourne Cup Winners List

You Might Be Interested In: Melbourne Cup 2023 – Australia’s Most Iconic Horse Racing Event

Melbourne Cup Winners From 1990 to 1999

Check out the list of Melbourne Cup winners from 1990 to 1999. These were the champions of their respective years.

Winning YearNames
1991 Let’s Elope
1992 Subzero
1993 Vintage Crop
1994 Jeune
1995 Doriemus
1996 Saintly
1997Might and Power
1998 Jezabeel
1999 Rogan Josh

Melbourne Cup Winners From 2000 to 2020

Here is the list of some notable Melbourne Cup winners between 2000 and 2020 including the three times champion Makybe Diva. You can also find some international jockeys who took part in this event.

Winning YearHorse Names
2000        Brew
2001        Ethereal
2002        Media Puzzle
2003       Makybe Diva
2004        Makybe Diva
2005        Makybe Diva
2006        Delta Blues
2007        Efficient
2008        Viewed
2009        Shocking
2010        Americain
2011        Dunaden
2012        Green Moon
2013        Fiorente
2014        Protectionist
2015        Prince of Penzance
2016        Almandin
2017        Rekindling
2018        Cross Counter
2019Vow And Declare
2020Twilight Payment

Melbourne Cup Winners list, 2021

Get the latest updates about the winning champion of this event. The 2021 Melbourne Cup was won by the Irish horse Twilight Payment, ridden by jockey Jye McNeil and trained by Joseph O’Brien. The race was run on November 2, 2021, and saw Twilight Payment lead from start to finish.

Melbourne Cup Winners 2022

The Melbourne Cup is the major horse racing contest across Australia, and the date of this championship is the first Tuesday of November. So the Melbourne Cup winner in 2022 was the Gold Trip. The race is one of the most highly awaited events on the Australian sporting calendar and attracts a large and passionate crowd.

Melbourne Cup Winner’s Owners

You should not take this event so leniently because the most famous personalities share their interest in this contest. The owners of Melbourne Cup winners include some of the biggest names in Australian and international horse racing. Some notable owners include Lloyd Williams, who has won the Cup multiple times, and Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum of Dubai, who has also had success in the race.

Melbourne Cup Winner’s Numbers

Each Melbourne Cup winner is designated a unique number, which indicates the order in which they are drawn from the starting point. The number has no bearing on the result of the race, but it is used to identify the horses during the race and in the results.

Melbourne Cup Winners List and Odds

Melbourne Cup winners list and odds are determined by bookmakers, and these odds are given by looking at the horse’s performance, trainer, and jockey and also analyzing the other factors. The odds can fluctuate in the lead-up to the race, and the eventual winner may not always be the favourite.

Related Article: Melbourne Cup Order Of Entry 2023 | Stay Updated Now

Melbourne Cup Winners and Barriers

The Melbourne Cup winner’s list has clearly been established for future use and for getting past information. The starting barriers for the Melbourne Cup are randomly drawn the Saturday before the race. The barrier can have an impact on the horse’s performance, as some barriers are more advantageous than others, depending on the horse’s running style.

Melbourne Cup Winners and Weights

The horse’s age and weight have a reasonable influence on the performance. Fewer weight horses are more elegant to win this contest. The weight assigned to each horse in the Melbourne Cup is determined by the handicapper, who assesses the horse’s past performance and assigns a weight based on its perceived ability. The weight can have an impact on the horse’s performance, as carrying more weight can make it harder to win.

General Information About: Melbourne Cup: Australia’s Biggest Horse Racing Event Of The Year

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Who is the best Melbourne Cup winner?

There are five horses in the history of the Melbourne Cup who have won this event twice or more. Four horses are double champions, and only one horse has won thrice. Makybe Diva became champion by winning three events in a row.

Who is the king of the Melbourne Cup?

When we talk about the trainers, we cannot ignore the name of Bart Cummings. He gained the status to become a successful trainer and won 12 championships at different times.

Who will win the 2023 Melbourne Cup?

Punters and experts announce their prediction about who will be the winner of Melbourne Cup 2023. As we all know the Gold Trip has won the 2022 championship, still the punters are hopeful about the Gold to win the 2023 title.

Who are Current Melbourne Cup Favorites 2023?

This title has not been fixed for anyone but changes from time to time. At the time when I am writing this, White Marlin grabs this title.

How much did Gold Trip pay?

There were many entities involved to pay for Gold Trip. The paid amount was $2.3m, but the Bourne and Australian Bloodstock had also participated in it.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.